Closer

Last week I was able to go to Alaska

Alaska is a beautiful place! It seemed like everywhere I turned there was a new view that was even more incredible than the one before. I have to admit I have a newfound jealousy for the people who live there.

My favorite part of the whole trip was getting to spend some time alone with my wife and away from my phone. There was entire days where we sat in silence watching mountains, valley, whales, glaciers, seals, and eagles go by.

I think I finally found the wisdom in the words of Dave Matthews when he said.

it’s good for the soul when there’s not a soul in sight

Or maybe I realized what David was saying in Psalm 8

I guess what I am saying is somewhere in the midst of these giant mountains and valleys I discovered God in a more tangible way. Something incredible happens in our souls when we stand next to a mountain and realize how small we are and how big His creation is at least for me! I think that the farther from man made creations we get, the closer we come to connecting with God.

For me being away meant being closer.

I’m not suggesting we all go live in the mountains but let me encourage you to take some time this week in the midst of all we do to take a walk, or go to a park. Take some time to get away and maybe you will get closer.

What do you guys think?

The peace I found on this trip was

DSC03318.JPG

Leave a Reply

