Take Your Coat Off

How many of you have a favorite coat? Or shirt? Or hat? 

Here in Columbus Ohio I see a lot of people wearing Osu Buckeye clothing.

They wear Osu hats, coats, pants, shorts, shirts, jerseys, shoes, flags, capes, slippers, ties, necklaces, and even  Osu underwear!

Now, you may not like to wear a buckeye coat where you live but around here people really do! 

I used to have a favorite coat, it was a jean jacket (cause I am a rebel haha) with a big eagle painted on the back.  It may have been a fashion faux pas but I didn’t care I had that james dean day dream look in my eye every time I put this coat on!  I loved this coat!  I wore this coat every where I went! 

 One day me and my favorite jacket came inside the house and sat down at the dinner table ready to be blessed by my mom and her mashed potatoes.  I was sitting there feeling cool like Steve McQueen when my dad said as only dads can say.

Are you cold son?” 

“No I’m not cold I’m cool dad” 

“Did you forget to hang your coat up?” 

“No” 

“I think you did” 

“No dad, this is my favorite coat I where it every where” 

“Not in my house you don’t, take your coat off.” 

“But dad, it’s my favorite coat” 

” I don’t care if it’s your only coat, take it off when you are inside.” 

“But” 

“Off” 

“Yeah but dad” 

“Take your coat off son,” 

“But James Dean wore his favorite coat inside”

“Son, you ain’t James Dean, take your coat off, or I will” 

I decided to take my coat off. 

In the Bible there is a man who had a favorite coat too.

But this man didn’t want to be like James Dean, he really needed his coat. 

See, this man needed to where his coat no matter where he went (inside or not) 

See, This man was a blind man and he had his coat so everyone would know he was a blind man.

In fact, much like the buckeye fans his coat was what defined him as a person.

When others saw his coat  they instantly recognized that he was a blind man.

His coat was his way of telling everyone that he was handicapped. 

His coat was everything to him, it paid for his lunches, kept him safe on the highways, and reminded people who he was.

Yet, when he met Jesus he took off everything that defined him.

And they came to Jericho: and as he went out of Jericho with his disciples and a great number of people, blind Bartimæus, the son of Timæus, sat by the highway side begging. And when he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out, and say, Jesus, thou Son of David, have mercy on me. And many charged him that he should hold his peace: but he cried the more a great deal, Thou Son of David, have mercy on me. And Jesus stood still, and commanded him to be called. And they call the blind man, saying unto him, Be of good comfort, rise; he calleth thee. And he, casting away his garment, rose, and came to Jesus. And Jesus answered and said unto him, What wilt thou that I should do unto thee? The blind man said unto him, Lord, that I might receive my sight. And Jesus said unto him, Go thy way; thy faith hath made thee whole. And immediately he received his sight, and followed Jesus in the way. (‭Mark‬ ‭10‬:‭46-52‬ KJV)

Why would he throw away his coat? 

After all, it’s not like Jesus told him too. 

The blind man threw away his coat because he knew that when Jesus comes he gives us a new identity! 

When Jesus showed up he changed the identity of the blind man! 

He went from being blind to seeing all because of Jesus. 

He went from being known as a handicap to being known as a miracle

What about us

What defines us? 

Is it the sins we cannot overcome?

Is it the tragedies that define our lives? 

Is there some ghosts from your past? 

Are you burdened with blame? 

Take these coat off. 

I know it’s uncomfortable but take them off!

Jesus wants to give you a whole new identity. 

 I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, he hath covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decketh himself with ornaments, and as a bride adorneth herself with her jewels. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭61‬:‭10‬ KJV)

After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands; And cried with a loud voice, saying, Salvation to our God which sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb. (‭Revelation‬ ‭7‬:‭9-10‬ KJV)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

