Face 2 Face With Santa Claus

How many of you have ever met a celebrity?

Did your viewpoint of that person change? After meeting them?

A while ago I was able to meet a person who I had always looked up to. He was speaking at a event and I walked up to introduce myself. Halfway through telling him what an honor it was to meet a hero in person he cut me off with the words “That’s nice, go get me a drink!”
Needless to say I was a little disappointed by meeting him and in fact I rarely go speak to visiting speakers anymore.

Last week I was able to meet a pastor who I admire and I was delighted to discover that he was even more humble, kind, and normal than I had expected. I came away liking his ministry even more after meeting him in person.

These meeting have caused me to think about Christmas. You see, I am a absolute Christmas freak! I love everything about Christmas! I am that annoying guy rocking out to “Jingle Bell Rock” in my car, in July, I am the guy who buys coffee mugs simply because they say Merry Christmas, I mean I just love the season.

I love Christmas so much that I have tried to forget the time I met another celebrity face to face and it changed everything.

You see, I met Santa Claus!

Well, that is I thought I was meeting Santa Claus! But was amazed to discover that Santa looked an awful lot like my mother!

See, I stayed up all night on Christmas Eve waiting to meet Santa, but since I am not a everyday normal happy kid. I decided I would trap Santa as he came out of my fireplace and hold him for ransom. So when I heard noises coming from the tree I leapt out from my hiding place, threw a blanket over his head, and used all of my 56 pounds to tackle Santa to the ground! Only to discover that Santa was my mother and she was definitely on the naughty list for the words she was saying!

Isn’t it funny how a face to face meeting changes things?

In Matthew 9 there is a story of a face to face meeting that completely changes everything for a lady.

And, behold, a woman, which was diseased with an issue of blood twelve years, came behind him, and touched the hem of his garment: For she said within herself, If I may but touch his garment, I shall be whole. But Jesus turned him about, and when he saw her, he said, Daughter, be of good comfort; thy faith hath made thee whole. And the woman was made whole from that hour. (‭Matthew‬ ‭9‬:‭20-22‬ KJV)

Here is a lady who breaking the law. She is taking her life into her own hands by being in public when she is unclean. No doubt she has heard of Jesus and apparently she believes in him to! Because she has the faith to not only break the law but also to attempt something that even Moses was not allowed to do. Touch the hem of the garment God is wearing See Exodus 33

This woman is satisfied with the back of God but God is not!
Jesus turns and faces the woman! And when He does the change is immediate and amazing! She is healed!

What a difference a face to face meeting makes

But notice the first words Jesus says to the woman

Daughter be of good cheer

Our immediate reaction to meeting with Jesus is Joy!

Not only did the lady receive healing but she also received Joy!

Unlike me the night I met Santa, I received a spanking.

What do you guys think?

IMG_3136-1.JPG

Leave a comment